Le régime Portfolio est un modèle d’alimentation à base de plantes qui a été mis au point au début des années 2000 à University of Toronto et St. Michael’s Hospital.

Le régime Portfolio est un « portefeuille » de quatre aliments hypocholestérolémiants, ou piliers (dont les protéines végétales, les noix, les fibres visqueuses et les phytostérols). Les aliments de chacun de ces quatre piliers ont des allégations de santé approuvées au Canada, aux Etats-Unis et en Europe (par Santé Canada, Food & Drug Administration, et European Food Safety Authority ) pour la réduction du cholestérol ou du risque de maladie cardiaque. Le régime Portfolio original a été conçu sur la base d’un régime à faible teneur en graisses saturées, qui comprend ≤7 % de l’énergie totale provenant des graisses saturées et ≤ 200 mg de cholestérol alimentaire. Les quatre piliers hypocholestérolémiants sont ensuite ajoutés à ces conseils diététiques.

Sur la base d’un régime de 2000 calories/jour, les aliments suivants sont inclus :

  • 45 g de noix (provenant des noix ou des arachides)
  • 50 g de protéines végétales (provenant des produits à base de soja, des haricots, des pois, des pois chiches et des lentilles)
  • 20 g de fibres visqueuses (provenant d’avoine, d’orge, de psyllium, d’aubergine et de gombo)
  • 2 g de phytostérols (provenant de suppléments ou de produits enrichis en phytostérols)

Le régime Portfolio a depuis été amélioré pour inclure des huiles saines pour le cœur et riches en graisses monoinsaturées (AGMIs), telles que l’huile d’olive extra vierge, les huiles de canola/soja pressées à froid ou les avocats, comme cinquième pilier, afin d’améliorer encore les niveaux de cholestérol.

Dans l’ensemble, il a été constaté que le régime Portfolio améliore plusieurs facteurs de risque de maladie cardiaque, notamment le cholestérol, l’inflammation et la pression artérielle. Les avantages pour la santé du régime Portfolio ont été reconnus par plusieurs directives de pratique clinique à l’échelle mondiale. Il s’agit notamment des directives de pratique clinique du Canadian Cardiovascular Society (Société canadienne de cardiologie), Diabetes Canada , Obesity Canada (Obésité Canada), Heart UK, Heart Foundation of Australia, the American College of Cardiology/American Heart Association, et the European Atherosclerosis Society.

Vous voulez en savoir plus? Consultez l’infographie du régime Portfolio

fr_CAFrench

The Portfolio Diet is a plant-based dietary pattern that was first developed in the early 2000s at the University of Toronto and St. Michael’s Hospital.

The Portfolio Diet is a “portfolio” of four cholesterol-lowering foods, or pillars (including plant protein, nuts, viscous fibre, and plant sterols). Foods within each of these four food pillars have approved health claims in Canada, the USA, and Europe (with Health Canada, the Food & Drug Administration, and European Food Safety Authority) for cholesterol-lowering or heart disease risk reduction. The original Portfolio Diet was designed on top of a low-saturated fat diet, which includes ≤7% total energy from saturated fat and ≤200 mg dietary cholesterol. The four cholesterol-lowering pillars are then added to this diet advice.

Based on a 2000 calorie/day diet, the following foods are included:

  • 45 g of nuts (from tree nuts or peanuts)
  • 50 g of plant protein (from soy products, beans, peas, chickpeas, and lentils)
  • 20 g of viscous fibre (from oats, barley, psyllium, eggplant, and okra)
  • 2 g of plant sterols (from supplements or plant sterol-enriched products)

The Portfolio Diet has since been enhanced to include heart-healthy oils rich in monounsaturated fats (MUFAs), such as extra virgin olive oil, cold-pressed canola/soybean oils, or avocados, as the 5th pillar, to further improve cholesterol levels.

Overall, the Portfolio Diet has been found to improve several risk factors for heart disease, including cholesterol, inflammation, and blood pressure. The health benefits of the Portfolio Diet have been recognized from several clinical practice guidelines globally. These include the clinical practice guidelines of the Canadian Cardiovascular Society, Diabetes Canada, Obesity Canada, Heart UK, Heart Foundation of Australia, the American College of Cardiology /American Heart Association, and the European Atherosclerosis Society.

Want to learn more? Check out the Portfolio Diet Infographic

en_CAEnglish